Fellow, Environmental Water Resources Institute, American Society of Civil Engineers

Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Alumni Hall of Fame


Margaret S. Peterson Award for an outstanding woman in environmental and water resources. American Society of Civil Engineers. Environmental and Water Resources Institute.


Receiving Peterson Award with my students.  L to R (Duygu, Kelly, Jeanne, Lauren, Tylesha)

Carnegie Mellon University Barbara Lazarus Award recognizes exemplary contributions to fostering a welcoming and nurturing environment for graduate students and young faculty

Accepting the Barbara Lazarus Award at Carnegie Mellon.

Carnegie Science Center Environmental Award

Receiving Carnegie Science Center Award



Appointed Duquesne Light Company Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering


Philip L. Dowd Fellowship, Carnegie Mellon University College of Engineering. In recognition of educational contributions.

Receiving the Dowd Fellowship Award


National Academy of Engineering. Armstrong Endowment for Young Engineers. Gilbreth Lecturship


Receiving the Gilbreth Lecturship Award


National Academy of Engineering Frontiers of Engineering Education Selected Presenter

Association for Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) Distinguished Service Award

Receiving the AEESP Distinguished Service Award


Aldo Leopold Leadership Program Fellow

West Chester East High School Hall of Fame

Professor of the Year. American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Pittsburgh Chapter

McGraw-Hill/ AEESP Award for Outstanding Teaching in Environmental Engineering and Science

Receiving the AEESP Outstanding Teaching Award


National Academy of Engineering Frontiers of Engineering Symposium. Indo-US. Infrastructure. Selected Presenter

Best Research Paper. Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management (JWRPM) for “Efficient sensor placement optimization for securing large water distribution networks.”


Pennsylvania Water Environment Association Professional Research Award

Receiving the PWEA Award


Paul Christiano (E1964, 1965, 1968) and Norene Christiano (MM 1964, 1971) Faculty Fellowship


George Tallman Ladd Award for outstanding research and professional accomplishments and potential, Carnegie Mellon University College of Engineering

Receiving the Ladd Award (L to R:  Dave Dzombak, Jeanne VanBriesen, John Anderson)


National Science Foundation Career Award